Driving While Intoxicated In Texas
DWI: these three letters can cause profound disruptions in your life. No other criminal offense carries with it the immediate possibility of lengthy driver’s license suspensions, yearly license surcharges, travel restrictions, and heightened or canceled auto insurance coverage. Additionally, no other misdemeanor charge has created such a complex and ever-changing body of law for your attorney to master.
For these reasons, every citizen accused of a DWI or alcohol-related offense should seek representation by a DWI lawyer who is familiar with the latest developments in DWI law as well as the latest scientific challenges to police officer sobriety testing procedures. Practicing DWI attorneys must understand scientific techniques and how to question the reliability, accuracy, and validity of the State’s witnesses.
Experienced DWI Attorney
Houston, Texas criminal defense attorney Christopher Downey is a former chief Misdemeanor Prosecutor with the Harris County District Attorney’s Office. He was chosen by the District Attorney’s office to receive specialized training by the Texas Department of Public Safety in the prosecution of DWI offenses.
Mr. Downey has trained numerous prosecutors in the finer points of DWI trial preparation and prosecution and has lectured at area police academies on the role of the police officer in a criminal trial. He is a member of the National College for DUI Defense (NCDD) and has served as an Instructor for the Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association DWI Top Gun Seminar.
He has written numerous articles related to DWI criminal practice on topics such as effective jury selection, pretrial preparation, and jury instruction. He brings this extensive knowledge of prosecution and defense techniques to the aid of every client accused of DWI or intoxication-related offenses.
Alcohol-related crimes are among the most frequent offenses for which the Downey Law Firm is retained. Since 1999, Mr. Downey has successfully represented hundreds of individuals charged with alcohol-related offenses.
DWI Driver’s License Suspension
If you have recently been arrested for a DWI in Texas, you should contact our firm immediately. You have only 14 days from the date of your arrest to contest the possible lengthy suspension of your driver’s license. Fighting such a suspension may not only protect your ability to drive but may also lead to the discovery of very valuable evidence that could assist you in winning a dismissal of your DWI.
A first-time Texas DWI is charged as a Class B misdemeanor with a 72-hour minimum jail sentence. Any person convicted of driving while intoxicated in the state will face a minimum yearly surcharge imposed by the Department of Public Safety of at least $1,000 for the three years following conviction.
Second offenders will face a yearly surcharge of $1,500 and any person who registers in excess of .16 percent blood alcohol concentration (BAC) on a legitimate breath test will face a $2,000 surcharge. A BAC of .08 percent or above provides evidence of a Texas DWI. You can also be charged with a DWI for demonstrating an impaired driving ability due to the influence of drugs or alcohol.
|Common State Alcohol Offense Punishment Ranges:
|0 – $500.00 fine
DWI (test under .15)
|0 – 180 days in jail
|DWI (test over .15)
|0 -1 year in jail
|2-10 years in prison
|2-10 years in prison
|2-20 years in prison